What Love Does


Lord,

What did you see in me?  How did you know?

I have been waiting for this day for many years.  A milestone, my own personal Ebenezer, for you surely have been good to me.

20 years ago you broke my heart.  You showed me who I was, what I had done, and most importantly that you loved me despite and not because.  How did you know how much I needed that?  It exposed everything, meant everything, and changed everything in my life.

Acts 2:38-3938 Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. 39 The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call.”

How is it, that of all your miracles, we seldom talk about the greatest one of all – that you can change a man’s heart?

Anyone’s heart.  No exceptions. Not one.

There was one catch though, I had to die. Not physically, but in every other way that I knew.  It has not been easy Lord, in fact I struggle with it every day.

But you knew what this would do to me, and you began to let me see with new eyes.  Sometimes when I look at people, you are all I see.  I love that.  I know I am close to you when I can sense you as you pass by.

The hunger to be near you has not gone away over the years, if anything it has grown stronger.

I will die again tomorrow and the next day, hoping for another chance to sense when you are near.

Another chance to see you working in my wife, in my kids, in my family, in my friends, and in your children.

Another chance for you to let them see YOU in me, in my eyes – if only for a moment.  To know that you are near to them.  That is what I have gained.  You.

Thank you Lord, for sticking with me, for using me, for loving me these past 20 years.  I need you.  But you already knew that.

Philippians 2: 1 If you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any fellowship with the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, 2 then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. 3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. 4 Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.
About Tom Howard

I was struck by the grace of God and my life will never be the same.
This entry was posted in Devotional, Grace. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Love Does

  1. allynandgenie@verizon.net says:

    God uses you

  2. Christopher says:

    Beautiful thoughts. Thanks for posting, bro.

  3. Gay says:

    I am so glad I saw this. You amaze me you beautiful man.

Leave a Reply

